A Conversation I Had Today

Currently while finishing my schooling I work a part time job in retail. My co-workers are the usual retail mix – that is, mostly young people out of high school scattered amongst older folks who never got the education to go further. This environment is more or less what you’d think it would be like.

Nevertheless, I actually generally like my co-workers, or at least appreciate their company, some of whom I’ve been working with for some time now. One girl who works near my position and has for some time had this brief conversation with me (for context, I have become notorious for remaining staunchly apolitical and uncontroversial, as in, precisely the opposite of how I write on this blog):

ME (I had just considered walking across the parking lot to the convenience store on my break, but decided against it because it was too cold): Of course, if the winter stays this warm, maybe I WILL go one day.

GIRL (Clearly trying to bait me)*: Well, that’s because of that global warming! Why do so many people not believe in climate change even though all of the scientists say it’s true?

ME (Turns to the girl): Okay, [Name], do you know any climate science? Anything at all? Do you know why scientists think the world is warming? Do you have any idea how to stop it? Because – I’ll be honest – I don’t, and I doubt you do. All I know is that right now, I need to drive my car, and so I will do that. And right now, this warm winter weather has been really great. What that means for the climate at large I’ll let the scientists work out.

The girl laughed, and I went off to break.

*This was really pretty harmless. My non-views had become such an established part of the shared culture at this point that trying to get me to reveal my stance had long been a running gag with my co-workers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Conversation I Had Today

  1. Joseph Moore says:

    You are a stronger man than I!

Leave a Reply

