A Key Issue

I agree with much of the sentiment in this post – strongly, even, and said so in the comments. I stand by those comments; read them in the thread if you wish.

But in re-reading the post I think I spotted a key problem, or at least source of disagreement. Mr. Wright wrote this after showing images of upset and crying Hilary supporters:

Put no trust in princes, O Sons of Adam, for they are Sons of sinful Adam just as are you. Put no trust in pundits, Daughters of Eve, for they are deceptive Daughters of Eve just as are you.

…Which is well-written and makes a good point.

He followed it up with:

By way of contrast

…Followed by images of celebratory Trump supporters.

But I think the contrast is all wrong. The Hilary people put their faith in princes and pundits, and they failed. The Trump people…put their trust in different princes and different pundits. The person they wanted to get elected made it in, and they celebrated.

But they still trusted the princes and pundits.

The contrast should not be images of celebrating Trump supporters. It should be an image of this:

…And I think that our contrasting views here – and make no mistake, while Mr. Wright is as Catholic or more Catholic than I am, when he says that the opposite of Hilary supporters trusting the princes and pundits of this world are Trump supporters, me and him are looking at the world through a fundamentally different prism – are the source of a lot of our disagreements.

I shall have to think on this further.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Key Issue

  1. vishmehr24 says:

    I haven’t read the Wright post but a difference can be appreciated. To celebrate a victory is natural and does not tantamount to “trusting the princes of the world”.
    While the kind of depression, sorrow and rage exhibitted by the progressives is simply unnatural. I have read examples at Dreher’s blog at American Conservative and it is very much “putting one’s trust in princes”.

    • You’re right that there is a difference. Something about it smells wrong to me, though. For one, I don’t think the difference between the kinds of supporters die-hard enough to be celebrating at 3 AM is going to be awfully different. I’d imagine the reactions of the Trump supporters at a loss to be much the same.

      Politics is a nasty god.

  2. Crude says:

    But they still trusted the princes and pundits.

    I don’t trust any politician or pundit. I -like- some people. But trust? I’m gambling. I know it. Most people know it.

    I’d imagine the reactions of the Trump supporters at a loss to be much the same.

    You’d expect riots and mass protests?

    I don’t think that’s reasonable. These are two different cultures. Screaming and sobbing and cries of ‘I’M ABOUT TO FUCKING KILL MYSELF’ (into one’s video camera, to be broadcast to friends and family and fans) is not really Trump-supporter style.

    Politics is a nasty god.

    I know the attitude is that ‘left and right are two images of the same modernist coin – mirror images of each other!’ I think that kind of thinking is way too… man, what to even call it. Literary-minded? It’s trying to fit reality into a concise trope. I do not think it carries enough truth to be of value.

    That said, I disagree with Wright too, and I think he’s doing the literary thing as well. The reality is messier. Trump’s supporters are actually a somewhat diverse bunch of people. As for me, I’m doing what I can, and I’m not investing all of my faith in politics, and damn sure not government.

    • I think you misunderstand. I mean take pics of that same convention after Trump lost and the pics would look awfully similar. I don’t think there’d be this level of mass hysteria. And I do think the proper opposite to the first pics is Christ, not Trump.

      • Crude says:

        Fair enough. I agree on the other points anyway, though I maintain that Trump’s the only candidate I’ve ever seen who I feel excited for. Some solace, since another organization I’m supposed to be part of has been far less encouraging.

  3. Wood says:

    Crude,

    “since another organization I’m supposed to be part of has been far less encouraging.”

    I hope that’s not implying some doubt or reconsideration. But as a general statement of who and what I *think* you’re referencing, I hear you, brother.

    • Crude says:

      I hope that’s not implying some doubt or reconsideration.

      Not with the Church. But I think I’ve made my view on this Pope abundantly clear. I am open – I think he’s a rotten pope, and quite frankly, an unpleasant individual besides. He is a Pope to be endured and resisted, and who the Holy Spirit works in spite of, not because of.

Leave a Reply

