Thoughts on “Luke Cage”, episode 7 to finale

Spoilers ahoy. No avoiding it.

  • The show was in a bit of a lull, I was a bit bored, waiting for something to happen, and then…
  • BAM. WOW, I did NOT see Cottonmouth’s death coming. The Netflix shows so far have tended to set up their villains as characters almost as important as their heroes; Wilson Fisk in “Daredevil” and Kilgrave in “Jessica Jones” were two of the best parts of the show. Cottonmouth seemed to be set up the same way, right up until Black Mariah threw him out a window and clubbed him to death with a mic stand.
  • This was a big turning point in the show quality wise. The stakes become higher, the action became more intense, and generally everything became far more exciting than it had been so far.
  • THAT SAID – Though the show as a whole improved, I wasn’t totally sold on the replacement villains. The guy who played Diamondback put on a terrifying performance and did a great job, but ultimately the villain just wasn’t as interesting as Cottonmouth. Ditto with Black Mariah, who was probably my least favorite of the actors in the show. They weren’t bad, but Cottonmouth was missed.
  • Luke Cage and Claire oozed chemistry. I’m glad they got together.
  • I was furious when Black Mariah got away at the end, but on reflection I can see why they did it and recognize that my reaction speaks well of my investment in the show.
  • The fight scene with Diamondback at the end was kind of meh. I kept wondering why he didn’t just aim for the power pack on his back.

Ultimately, I found “Luke Cage” to be a fairly optimistic, uplifting show, more similar to season one of “Daredevil” than “Jessica Jones”. It was about guy who decided that his city needed a hero, and not a shadowy Daredevil figure but someone in the open, proving to the world that you didn’t need to be in the shadows to fight for what you believed in, to inspire people. I really enjoyed that.

Luke is interesting, too. Of the three Netflix heroes so far he’s probably the only one with a power level high enough to fit in with the Avengers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thoughts on “Luke Cage”, episode 7 to finale

  1. James says:

    I remember when the first “Luke Cage, Hero for Hire” comic books came out in the early 1970s. Marvel had created the Black Panther in 1966, but he was an African Prince and didn’t score his own comic book until years later.

    Luke Cage, to the best of my knowledge, was the first African-American superhero to have his own comic book series. The idea of a superhero hiring out his services like a private detective was fascinating, especially since I was a senior in High School and I’d been raised on more traditional Silver Age comics.

    I don’t have Netflix so I’ll probably never see this show, but I hope the producers are doing it justice.

    • The idea of a superhero focusing on black culture isn’t an inherently bad one to me. Black culture exists. It’s a real thing, whether we like it or not. Harlem exists. So why not have a hero that works in that culture? It’s interesting.

      There was some talk of Luke Cage “reclaiming the hoodie” as a symbol for black folks (referring to the Trayvon Martin thing, I guess). Believe it or not, I have no issue with this. If blacks want to “reclaim the hoodie”, that’s exactly how you do it: Attach it to an unambiguously white knight fighting people who are unambiguously villains. Not revenge, but a role model. That’s great!

      • James says:

        I know comic books, by their very nature, are unrealistic, but for decades, the only people who got powers were white people. If this were the real world, since we have a variety of ethnicities, racial, and national people groups, it makes sense that a radioactive whatever would bite someone not a white American once in a while.

Leave a Reply

