Thoughts on Early Suicide Squad Reviews

To be honest, it still sounds pretty fun to me. Even the bad reviews just sound like the movie is exactly what I expected and hoped it would be. The only thing that looks slightly disappointing is that Jared Leto, whose Joker looks like a blast, isn’t in it more, but apparently Harley Quinn and Deadshot are so good it shouldn’t matter too much.

I mean, one of the songs in the trailer was “Ballroom Blitz”. If you weren’t expecting something of a chaotic mess…what were you hoping for.

The only thing that really would have bothered me is if they said it was boring, and that’s one word I haven’t seen crop up yet. So I’ll still see it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts on Early Suicide Squad Reviews

  1. Jakeithus says:

    I’ve long had a mistrust of professional film critics, however I think it’s only been in the last year or so that I find myself actively disagreeing with them more than not. There seems to be a fundamental difference in what we’re both actually looking for.

    Warcraft is probably the best example; as a fan and someone familiar with the series I absolutely loved it. It was fun and looked fantastic and I was not bored in the least, but it also expected you to know a little about the universe rather than go into super great deal explaining it all. For that reason I can understand why critics found it confusing, even if I disagree with their conclusion.

    The fact that critics still think the movie is fun and crazy and visually intense and that many of the characters are deep and well done is a good sign. I too don’t expect to be bored when I go watch it, which is more than I can say for a number of critically acclaimed movies I’ve seen recently.

  2. goldrushapple says:

    @Jakeithus: I don’t really trust film critics. I stopped taking their opinion seriously a couple of years ago.

    Also, I think this week is going to be a decent week for me in the theater – going to see Suicide Squad and Lights Out. Both look fun to me.

Leave a Reply

