Just For Fun

When I write something long I tend to have bits and pieces of the story stick out very strongly, and other details and events sort of floating around in the ether; I know I need them, if for nothing else than to connect one moment to another (though that’s a bad way of looking at things), but I don’t know exactly what to do.

Book 1 of my current series, “The Knights of Avalon”, is still being snowflaked. But I have a general idea of how I want it to end, and even a title for the final book of the series: “The Death of Arthur”.

A title like that works for a number of reasons. First, by this point you’re hopefully invested in my Arthur figure, Michael Maddocks, so when the book directly refers to his death…well, that’s dramatic. And it is a translation of the accepted title of Malory’s masterwork, “Le Morte D’Arthur”.

This is all a longwinded way of saying I came up with the (first version of the) back cover blurb for “The Death of Arthur”, and I think it’s really freaking cool. Namely:

Michael Maddocks has accepted his role in the salvation of Britain and taken on the title of Arthur Pendragon. But Michael knows the legends: the original Arthur failed, and Camelot fell to war and treachery.

Though Michael tries to defy his fate, destiny seems to want to rear its head at every turn. Despite all of his efforts, a traitor still manages to infiltrate his forces. The salvation of Britain teeters on the edge of disaster.

And if there’s one thing that holds true in every form of the legend, it is this: Arthur must die.

I really like the last line there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just For Fun

  1. James says:

    Snowflaked. Interesting. Thanks for the link. Might help me in my own beginning endeavors of novel writing.

  2. Chad says:

    It sounds like fun. If you need initial readers, let me know. I would be happy to aid in any kind of feedback desired and aid someone trying to get good stories back into mainstream culture

  3. Pingback: Step Two in “Snowflaking” My First Novel | Powered by Robots

Leave a Reply

