“God, Robot” Author List

I mentioned this before but I feel it’s a good time to put it out there again for those who don’t know.

The authors include, in the order their stories appear:

  • Anthony Marchetta (me), editor and author of “Modified” and “Cover Up”
  • MJ Marzo, author of “The Theology of Robotics” and “The Council of Pasadena” (this second story is praised in the previously linked Amazon review). A sample of her writing can be found here.
  • Steve Rzasa, Hugo-nominated author of “Turncoat” and co-author of several Castalia House novels. He wrote “Daily Bread”.
  • John C. Wright, who needs no introduction. I think he, and his story, “An Unimaginable Light”, are brilliant, so hey. Plus, he inspired the whole thing.
  • Joshua Young, a fellow Superversive SF writer and author of the story “Felix Culpa”. He is currently contracted by Castalia for the novel “Do Buddhas Dream of Enlightened Sheep?”
  • EJ Shumak, a fellow superversive writer and longtime veteran in the field. I contacted him because I thought his story “Bunny Rabbit” from the fourth issue of the Sci Phi Journal was awesome. His story is titled “Infinite Search”.
  • Vox Day, who needs no introduction. His story, “The Logfile”, is a nice creepy one.
  • L. Jagi Lamplighter, the ringleader of our group of superversives. The whole book actually takes place in an alternate dimension of her “Unexpected Enlightenment” universe! Her story, “The Ring of Sounding Brass”, can accurately be called the centerpiece of the book.

It’s a great group! After you get your copy, make sure you LEAVE A REVIEW!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “God, Robot” Author List

  1. Joseph Moore says:

    Got my copy, will start it tonight.

  2. Dave says:

    Thoroughly entertaining read. Will post review soon. If you’re interested, I collected a list of typos as I read that I could send to you. Minor stuff overall but would be helpful if you update version. Didn’t see any contact info so email me if you like.

  3. Chad says:

    As a personal/professional note that I’ll leave off the review I’ll write – it felt like you were your own editor for the pieces you wrote. There were a couple odd sections that just felt… newborn and lacking in nurtured growth. The biggest thing is that you need to raise the stakes for your characters (things like losing only a day of work didn’t feel significant, and the time tables over all made the whole thing seem easy/breezy). Also, you called Abraham by the name of Adam at one point. The other jarring section was the immediate switch from sleuthing detective to enthralled audience without much lead in.

    Otherwise I’m having fun and enjoyed your writing. I haven’t read the others yet, only your two pieces, but wanted to give immediate feedback as an outside perspective. I’m excited to see where others take it.

    • Abraham by the name of Adam was, alas, something I discovered last minute, too late to fix (the mistake was the simple result of conflating the name of the pastor with the robot, and I’m still pretty annoyed with myself that I missed it).

      I take your criticisms with good grace. I consider it bad taste to argue directly with well-meant and honest criticism of one’s work outside of a direct editor/writer relationship, so I’ll say thank you for reading and I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

      I will say that I don’t disagree with you about Theseus’s switch – the prologue was kind of tricky to write and despite several edits I never came away totally satisfied (you can rest assured there was significant improvement, though).

      I personally think my epilogue came out better.

    • (You also raise the good idea that, in future projects like this, which are coming, I should get a separate editor to read at least for my own stories.)

  4. Dave says:

    I also noticed the “switch” however I figured we would learn more as the book progressed and if you had chased somebody that long you would probably have some questions for the fugitive.

    I think you should reconsider fixing the typos (Adam for Abraham was the most blatant) I’ve seen Castalia House often re-release ebook versions including Vox’s books. Amazon will automatically update the ebook for those that have purchased and most people never even realize it.

  5. GA says:

    Mr. M., just wanted to thank you for an entertaining blog. I’ve been lurking for a while now, and have quite enjoyed what I’ve read of GR so far. Mr. Jason Rennie was kind enough to offer to pass on a proposal I had for a collaboration, and I was wondering if you received it. Feel free to delete if you think it best, but all my best to you and yours, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

