Movies I’d Like to See, 2016

Last year was a pretty good year movie-wise from my perspective. This year looks to be even better. There are not only more movies I’m planning on seeing , but with the possible exception of “The Martian” I’m more excited about the movies as well.

In no particular order (It may or may not be the order they’re actually going to be released – I’m not going to bother to check):

  • Captain America: Civil War – I have been super psyched about this from the earliest trailers, and each new trailer just increases my excitement. Yes, there are a ton of ways this could go badly, but the potential is huge and the guys directing it already made one of the best movies in the MCU with “The Winter Soldier”. This is one I will make a point to see in theaters. It quite possibly might be my IMAX movie of the year (I have one IMAX theater in the year and tend to splurge on one IMAX release a year or so).
  • X-Men: Apocalypse – You know, I never was really a fan of this franchise, even when it was supposedly great during its first two movies. But the new cast really invigorated it, and I loved both “First Class” and “Days of Future Past”. So yes, I’m officially excited about this.
  • Dr. Strange – Benedict Cumberbatch is in the MCU! Benedict Cumberbatch is in the MCU! I’m sorry, I can’t hear you because BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH IS AN MCU SUPERHERO!

    Okay, I know my excitement is a little undignified, but the man’s reputation as an actor is mostly very well deserved, and I can’t help but be excited about this. Plus, the Operative as his co-star? That’s a heck of a 1-2 punch. It’ll be great!
  • Suicide Squad – This has even more potential to go bad than “Civil War” and “Batman v. Superman”, but they have been consistently nailing those trailers. If the movie lives up to the promise shown in the trailers this can be a dark horse candidate for best superhero (comic book?) movie of the year.
  • And finally, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Again, early images and trailers make what can potentially be a rather dull or trite concept, even a blatant cash grab, into something that I’m genuinely excited about – and it helps QUITE A LOT that Rowling herself has personally written the screenplay. This is the other candidate for IMAX movie of the year, and in spite of myself it still might be the movie I’m most excited for.

I think I can officially say it, though I’ve been avoiding it since, with rare exceptions, I don’t read comic books (seriously,  most comic writing as a rule is incredibly bad): I am a superhero fan. I love it on TV, as “Daredevil” and to a lesser extent “Jessica Jones” proves. I love the MCU. I loved the Nolan Batman films. I loved the Sam Raimi Spider-Man movies. I love the X-Men reboots.

Just like people used to be fans of westerns, I’m a superhero fan. And you know what? Who cares. It all makes for a fun year in the movie world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Movies I’d Like to See, 2016

  1. Jakeithus says:

    I agree that this looks like a good year for comic book movies. Civil War should be solid, and as a big XMEN fan I’m expecting big things from Apocalypse. The Doctor Strange trailer left me totally flat however, and Cumberbatch is really the only thing going for it in my mind at this point. It’s a little bit ironic because my biggest complaint with Marvel is how boring it gets for them to continuously stick to their formula, and the one thing I can say from Dr. Strange after the trailer is how different it looks. It’s probably partly due to my unfamiliarity with the character.

    Suicide Squad is what I’m truly excited for however. Trailers look fantastic, material and plot seem to be something different, and I’m truly excited about the universe DC is building after BvS. I want to see more of Batman and his backstory; and my expectations are sky high at this point, which I wouldn’t have thought when it was first announced.

    • I haven’t even seen the “Dr. Strange” trailer yet, but unless it has something grossly offensive in it there isn’t a ton it could do to hurt my interest.

      “Civil War” is definitely different from the typical Marvel formula. “Winter Soldier” didn’t quite break the mold, but it stretched it and ended up being one of the MCU’s most original movies (and the fight scenes were fantastic). The trailers have made it look great.

      I totally agree about “Suicide Squad”. The trailers have made it look both fun and different, and each one has been better than the last.

      • Jakeithus says:

        We’ll see about Civil War. Again I’m slightly jaded about the whole Marvel formula, but because I have even a passing familiarity with the comics I’m going to be going into the movie feeling like I can predict most of the plot before it happens. Maybe they’ll surprise me, but given how safe they seem play it I’m not holding my breath.

        Batman v Superman’s critical reception doesn’t have me super excited about the possibility of risk taking in future comic book movies, although in my mind the risks it took greatly outweigh it’s legitimate flaws. Hopefully it’s economic success encourages DC to continue to do their own thing.

      • …You’re right that the “Dr. Strange” trailer looks quite different, which is great. So it surprises me you’re not into it.

        Though the Ancient One as a bald woman is a little stupid looking, admittedly.

      • Jakeithus says:

        I’m thinking it’s my almost complete unfamiliarity with the character, I don’t know what to expect beyond trippy magic sequences at this point. The Ancient One for instance, means nothing to me. It was a bit of an issue for Guardians of the Galaxy as well, but that initial trailer did a better job laying things out I think.

        The same type of trailer for a property line Sandman (if it ever gets made) might inspire a totally different reaction from me.

    • Just so you know – I hold no hard feelings at all over anything that’s been said on John’s blog, and I hope you don’t either. I get invested in debates, but trust me, if I was genuinely angry or disdainful, you’d know – see my recent series on Lydia.

      I don’t agree with your position, but after all, it’s just comic book films.

  2. GRA says:

    How about Hardcore Henry? The concept seems rather novel; seems like a fun movie.

Leave a Reply

