Three New Superversive SF: “Where do you get your ideas?” and “Closure”

A word to all of you: I’ll link to one last post tomorrow (my bi-weekly Castalia House post), and then that’ll be the last you see of me for a good long while, as I will be giving up writing for Lent – that includes blog posts and blog comments, cold turkey. The only exceptions MIGHT be if I link to somebody else, but that’s it, and even then I won’t respond to any comments myself. I’d give up the internet as a whole if I didn’t need computers to communicate and to submit school assignments…but this is a pretty good sacrifice, I think, that will do some good in my life over the long term. Trust me, I’ll be back, all two to five readers.

Anyway, here’s some material to tide you over until then. First, we have my articles “Where do you get your ideas?”, parts one and two. Excerpts:

So at the start of all of this, I had several ideas on the back burner:

  1. One is about how the modern world has forgotten its roots in Faerie, and the descendant of Lancelot and Guinevere is tasked to begin the process of reuniting them. The original idea was titled “The Last Blood of Camelot”.
  2. Idea number two was a girl who takes a trip to Venus to find her missing father – envisioned as “A Wrinkle in Time”, but hard science rather than squishy soft.
  3. Idea number three is a boy who sees a vision of a girl committing suicide, and resolves to find the girl and prevent her. Inspired VERY loosely by the video game “To the Moon”.
  4. And finally, idea number four is of a man who sees a woman, has absolutely no memory of her but suddenly realizes that they are undoubtedly soulmates and he is madly in love with her. This one was inspired, once again loosely, by the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice, a personal favorite.

Frustratingly, I was having a very hard time taking these anywhere at all.

And part two:

Aha! I came up with an idea for Maddie’s father, and why le Fey would kidnap him. But what about Lance? Let’s go back to that vision, and to Excalibur. Perhaps, in the vision, Lance is gifted with Excalibur, which he is to bring to Arthur. But Lance is prideful. He thinks that Morgan le Fey is too pressing of a problem, and decides to attack her himself…which is what Morgan wants, as he is essentially delivering Excalibur to her (Gavin is going to go with Lance, of course).

And Bennett and Maddie are the wild cards. They are not descendents of the British, but of Americans, and their roles were never present in the original Arthurian stories. They represent something that Morgan le Fey can’t account for by looking at the past, and she inadvertently brings them into the story by kidnapping Maddie’s father. I can really play with them in a context outside of the main Arthurian legends – and indeed, I will probably use them in conjunction with the western side of my story.

“Closure” is a special case. It is a guest story by MJ Marzo, a young up and coming writer who will be having two stories published in the anthology/collaborative novel “God, Robot”. “Closure” is perhaps what can be called a paranormal romance…but with a twist. I think you’ll all like it. An excerpt:

Robert. Oh my god, I didn’t think I would ever see–”

She stopped, her eyes flitting to his and Christy’s hands clasped together. “Who is this?” she asked, her smile now forced.

Unlike Christy, Robert was oblivious to the poison dripping from that seemingly innocuous sentence.“She’s why I wanted to talk to you. This is Christy. She’s my fiance–”

“YOUR WHAT?!” She got up from her seat, throwing her hands in the air. Robert put his arm around Christy protectively and pulled her closer to him. Christy thought that leaving might have been the better option.

“You’re engaged?” Sandra screeched. “Why the hell did you think I wanted to be dragged here for that?”

The author tells me that she was frustrated with shows such as “The Long Island Medium”…and you’ll see why.

Be sure to comment here, there, or both! Thoughts on “Closure” are particularly appreciated.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three New Superversive SF: “Where do you get your ideas?” and “Closure”

  1. Andrew says:

    “Closure” was a fun little story. Though I am curious – how would the author subjectively describe Robert? Does she find him attractive or unattractive? He is seeking closure, but seemingly living under the shadow of his deceased wife. Does this make him appear faithful or weak, noble or cowardly?

    • I don’t think she really thought of Robert that much (as I said, she has two stories in “God, Robot”, so I know her well – and no, by the way, she is not me, in case anybody decides to ask). If I had to guess (I may ask her), she found Robert sympathetic but ultimately far too wrapped up in what his deceased and (apparently) bitchy wife thought of him.

      The ending is a sort of redemption for him, as he finally realizes the depth of his delusion, and his joy of breaking free.

      I loved “Closure” when I first read it. I think it’s hilarious.

Leave a Reply

