New Superversive SF: “The Force Awakens: It’s Pretty Good, I Guess”

My review of “The Force Awakens”. In summary: It was a very good re-make of “A New Hope”, and I probably liked it a bit more. Look, “A New Hope” hasn’t aged very well, okay?

An excerpt:

To be perfectly honest with you, there was no character in “A New Hope” I ever liked as much as I liked Finn with the exception of Han…who had a major role in this movie, and anyway Han’s very best lines came in “Empire” (which remains easily the best in the series and one of the greatest sci-fi films of all time).

As much as I disliked the character of Rey, the chemistry between her and Finn gains some genuine sizzle later on, which was good to see. Sure, the rehash of the plot of “A New Hope” was kind of dumb, but thought of as a reboot rather than as a sequel it works fine.

As an aside, I watched “Empire” for the first time yesterday. It really is outstanding, probably on the same level of excellence as “Wrath of Khan”…which is a very high compliment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Superversive SF: “The Force Awakens: It’s Pretty Good, I Guess”

  1. Syllabus says:

    As an aside, I watched “Empire” for the first time yesterday.

    Um. How in the world did that situation come about?

Leave a Reply

