A Service Announcement

I switched my major to computer programming from teaching English, because I am a masochist.

Here is my service announcement: After talking to programming friends, slowly learning C++, and dipping into a couple of other languages, you know what I learned?

THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO REASON FOR ME TO BE LEARNING CALCULUS. IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH COMPUTER PROGRAMMING, AT ALL.

I think the only reason computer science majors are required to take it is to try and make them quit. WHY they want people to quit the major I don’t know, but then there’s no other reasonable explanation for it.

All right. That is all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Service Announcement

  1. Syllabus says:

    If you’re going to do compsci, you are probably going to take some stuff like discrete math, abstract algebra, and (maybe) mathematical logic/Boolean algebra. All of those have pretty significant impact on compsci, so maybe they’re just doing that to get you in the math-y mood.

    Though, to be quite frank, I think a good course in linear algebra would be of more service.

  2. The original Mr. X says:

    I think the only reason computer science majors are required to take it is to try and make them quit. WHY they want people to quit the major I don’t know, but then there’s no other reasonable explanation for it.

    Maybe it’s to winnow out the half-hearted Compsci majors, so that only the true enthusiasts are left studying it.

  3. Crude says:

    I switched my major to computer programming from teaching English, because I am a masochist.

    Indeed. As a comp sci major, you’re going to be carrying something with you all your life that most English majors are never burdened by.

    Money.

    • Crude says:

      Let me add.

      THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO REASON FOR ME TO BE LEARNING CALCULUS. IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH COMPUTER PROGRAMMING, AT ALL.

      Just in case you’re not kidding and venting frustration.

      You can go pretty far without dipping into calculus, but when it comes to programming, you’re going to quickly find that you can do a lot of cool stuff with math and logic that you’d not suspect at first.

      • i actually tested out of all my calculus requirements using the AP test. Never really noticed needing it. If anything, I needed refreshers on matrix math (Adv. Algebra 2) when I got to graphics since I had pretty much forgotten it all in 4 years.

      • Crude says:

        Never really noticed needing it.

        I’m not saying it’s something you’re going to need as a programmer, only that there are areas where it can have its uses.

        You can probably get through a lifetime of programming without needing to know SQL, but to say SQL has nothing to do with programming would be going way too far.

    • Indeed. As a comp sci major, you’re going to be carrying something with you all your life that most English majors are never burdened by.

      Money.

      Admittedly, that was the motivation.

      Although, as I actually really do intend to make a go at this publishing company, I regret not going for a business degree. Literally too late now, though – I don’t have enough money to switch majors and not take an extra year of classes.

      • What do you need a business degree for? Honest work and apprenticing to someone running a business will teach you far more than a degree ever could.

      • Some of the folks in the self-publishing biz recommended it or a similar degree highly.

      • GRA says:

        You can major in comp. sci and maybe minor in English, or maybe double major if it’s possible. You can then work for a few years making money as a programmer and if need be apply to an MBA program. After the two years in the MBA program you can then open your own online publishing site with the connections made, or maybe even a business with hard copies. All with an awesome site.

  4. Ilíon says:

    I switched my major to computer programming from teaching English, because I am a masochist.

    Masochistic? That’s just sensible.

  5. GRA says:

    Good luck. I’m self-teaching myself the basic of website design since my cousin, a couple of his friends and I are trying to create a startup. Once I get the basics done I need to learn learn Python, PHP, juery and maybe Java. After all that’s learned to a competent level I’ve decided to learn Obj. C and C+++. At least that’s the plan for the next few years.

    • GRA says:

      *self-teaching
      *jquery
      *C++

      It’s way too late where I am. I need to hit the sack.

    • Crude says:

      After all that’s learned to a competent level I’ve decided to learn Obj. C

      You may want to rethink that. My understanding is that Obj C is on the way out, and Swift is going to pretty well replace it.

      Anyway, if you guys haven’t heard of it: http://www.codeacademy.com is a pretty great place to start. And add some form of SQL to your list – being able to interact with databases like that is just endlessly useful.

      • GRA says:

        Really? Huh, never knew that about Obj C. Thanks

        Code Academy is great. It’s one of the many sites that’s helping me on this path.

Leave a Reply

