Just Finished: The Original “Ender’s Game” Novella

From Jerry Pournelle’s “There Will be War: Volume 1”.

My comment: That was MESSED UP, but utterly brilliant.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Just Finished: The Original “Ender’s Game” Novella

  1. Jakeithus says:

    Have you read the novel, or is this your first exposure to Ender’s Game?

    • First exposure. Started the novel once, but for whatever reason at the time I lost interest.

      • Jakeithus says:

        Good stuff. I’m currently reading the 4th book in the series, and have found each book to be incredibly well written. As a big Sci-Fi fan in general I figured I should expand my sci-fi literary exposure beyond the Star Wars novels I read as I was younger and figured Ender was a good place to start. I’m certainly not disappointed in the series to this point, and it’s refreshing to encounter a science fiction writer with an understanding of religion given what one typically receives in stories about the future.

        My only regret was being aware of the twist in the story going into it, as the impact certainly would’ve been much different if I was not spoiled.

      • I knew the twist, but I got so caught up in the story I almost forgot it by the time I reached the end of the story. So the moment still made an impact.

        THAT is excellent writing.

      • I think I can safely say that it was one of the best works of sci-fi I have ever read. Ranking up there with it is “Awake in the Night” and perhaps “A Wrinkle in Time”.

      • Crude says:

        I think I can safely say that it was one of the best works of sci-fi I have ever read.

        You think so? Well, I happen to know a little fact that will change your tune immediately.

        The writer is a vocal opponent of same-sex marriage.

        See? It was horrible all along – and you didn’t even know it!

      • That’s nothing. Did you know JOHN C. WRIGHT wrote “Awake in the Night”? I heard that guy is like the Westboro Baptist Church, only eviller.

      • Jakeithus says:

        Screw you Crude, way to ruin what could have been a perfectly good work of Sci Fi.

        Maybe I should have seen it coming the moment Card wrote about religious characters without mentioning how backwards and ignorant they are for believing what they do. It’s getting to the point where unless a story includes 2 or 3 transexuals and 4 or 5 distinct genders, you cant trust an author to tell a good story these days.

      • Also, I heard Vox Day eats gay black female babies.

        True story.

Leave a Reply

