And Now For Something Completely Different

Those of you who have been reading my blog for any length of time shouldn’t be at all surprised to learn that I am a massive Flannery O’Connor fan, as all and sundry should be. I am a cynical Catholic; she is a Catholic that makes me look like the author of “Good Night Moon”. A woman after my own heart.

So I came up with an idea for a short story very much in the vein of Flannery O’Connor that has nothing to do with sci-fi or fantasy. I’m warning you, it is dark. Very dark. Very, very dark. It is the story of a teenage girl, about to commit suicide, who is kidnapped by a rapist-murderer. To give you an idea of how dark it is, here is a line in the story (which isn’t done yet).

“Girl, you don’t get it. I’m not just going to kill you. I’m going to rape you first, and slowly, and I will enjoy it.”

The teenage girl didn’t even flinch; here eyes remained dull and lifeless. “Well, at least I won’t die a virgin.”

Yeah, that’s a line.

This story is so dark that I don’t know if I’ll even be able to sell it; if nobody bites, I’ll post it here for free.

Let me make something clear: The story is NOT nihilistic. Like O’Connor’s stories, it will end on the tiniest, slightest note of redemption and hope. And it will contain some black humor. But make no mistake, it is a dark story.

I am optimistic about this.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And Now For Something Completely Different

  1. labreuer says:

    I love stories which screw with evil in this way. I think we frequently don’t understand how much God screws with evil people. >:-]

    • If you’ve ever read “A Good Man is Hard to Find”, it takes some inspiration from that, as well as two stories I once read on a blog, put up for free by the author. Those stories were also clearly inspired by O’Connor. I must remember to link to them.

      The idea in mind is that this truly monstrous human being grabs a victim with a moral philosophy that is actually, incredibly, MORE dead than his philosophy. It’s really about somebody who discovers for the first time what it truly means to be nihilist and to care about absolutely nothing, and it scares the piss out of him.

Leave a Reply

