Just Finished: “Caves of Steel”, by Isaac Asimov

I will always have a soft spot for Asimov. “I, Robot” was the first non-“Wrinkle in Time” sci-fi book I’ve ever read, less than a year ago (“City Beyond Time” by John C. Wright was second, by the way). I am on the record as being a big fan of the robot stories, so you can see why I was excited when I got “Caves of Steel” for Christmas.

And not only that? I’m also a big fan of mystery novels. So this really should have been right up my alley.

…And it was! “Caves of Steel” was a really fun ride. It was never dull and the ending was brilliantly suspenseful and extremely well done. This was the rare twist ending that had me genuinely surprised while still playing by the rules. I felt outsmarted, not cheated, and that’s how you want to feel.

It was an interesting, smart story that all came together in a killer climax. There were several satisfying payoffs as well as the aforementioned twist ending. I won’t give away anything except to say that the killer was somebody who I had taken out of the calculation entirely, but when the chain of events was explained I had to admit that it made perfect sense.

I just bought “The Naked Sun” from Kindle. If it’s anywhere near as good as the first one I’m sure I’ll love it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

