Reading Reviews for “Interstellar”

Yeah, I’m that kind of nerd.

I just don’t get a ton of the critical reviews. A ton of critics are saying that the movie falls off in the third act?

What??? Were we watching the same movie? The third act, an emotional rollercoaster highlighted by one of the single most ambitious scenes in the history of cinema? A scene simultaneously mind-blowing and heartbreaking? And which, oh yeah, also happened to be absolutely brilliantly acted by Matthew McConaughey, who puts on one of the single best performances I have ever seen?

The Hell?

One reviewer even tried to say that the female characters were overcome by “women issues” or something strange like that. Considering that the main character’s daughter ends up figuring out the equation to manipulate gravity and uses that technology to help save the human race…well…that’s an extremely dumb thing to say. It seems like the sort of thing you’d only see if you were looking for sexism everywhere, say.

The people complaining about the “science babble” of the film are not to be mentioned. If you don’t like sci-fi, walk out of the theater. You just won’t like it.

Or people complaining about “clunky” dialogue. All I know is that the scene on the ice planet with Matt Damon, intercut back and forth with the burning farm back on Earth, is one of the best scenes in a movie I have ever seen. Matt Damon just kills this visually spectacular sequence, Zimmerman’s score is breathtaking, and the fire and ice contrast is frighteningly effective. This was the point in the movie where I thought “Okay, I don’t see how anybody is getting out of this one.”

“Interstellar” was a masterpiece. I’m genuinely puzzled as to why more people don’t see that. I guess if you don’t like sci-fi you just won’t get it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Reading Reviews for “Interstellar”

  1. /slow clap

    I mean there are things I’ve watched, of which I’ve said, “Ok, this isn’t for me. But if you like _, _, _, etc, you’ll enjoy it.” But no, some of these reviews just… argh!

    Though I will admit I can get sometimes that fans can be annoying and we shouldn’t harass people for having various tastes (I once left a discussion board because of the Wire).

    • I mean, if you have no taste for hard sci-fi, why did you even walk into the theater.

      What, you did or didn’t like “The Wire”?

      (By the way, this is also where I sometimes diverge with Wright, who can be EXTREMELY hostile when people like certain pieces of media.)

      • I do not like the Wire.

        Though I’m not sure what you mean about Wright being hostile as far as I can recall.

      • Well, hostile is probably strong. But a good example was the “Silence of the Lambs” incident. It ended well and I harbor no hard feelings, but Wright’s reaction to me saying I enjoy “Silence” was not a mild one. Heck, he had a whole list of movies, several I liked, all on that list.

        Hostile is probably too much, but his feelings on critical matters are definitely very strong.

      • Hmm…. ok I get what you mean.

        I look at art very much like I look at food. I believe the quality of an art piece is objective, just like the nutritional value of food is objective. However taste is subjective and no matter how “good” an art might be, or “good for you” a bit of food might be, doesn’t mean people MUST like it.

        I’ve noticed this is a concept that a lot of modern internet folks have trouble grasping sometimes.

  2. GRA says:

    I for one thought the movie was amazing despite a few weak spots here and there. The soundtrack was grand as well.

    Critics are a funny bunch, really. If it gets a wide release (mainstream) I tend to be less critical of their views, but if it’s a limited release type of film, like an indie or Oscar type, I’ll get a rough consensus – if any – and make my own decision. Critics tend to over hype performances, certain actors/actress, and it has been predictable of what they might favor.

  3. Montague (C. M. Boyd) says:

    My theory is that Interstellar gets bewildering reviews is because it is something like a Christian work of art; and modern folk don’t get that kind of stuff. Just look at the LOTR and Hobbit films, or for a more clear example, the Narnia movies. The only possible explanation for the Narnia movies (not the BBC series, of course) is that the director and screenwriter and so on haven’t the faintest clue about what exactly the Talking Lion is saying or what it all has to do with the boring Eustace-dragon that doesn’t even fight anything, and all that other unexciting jibber-jabber.

    • That’s a good point.

      I actually really LIKED the first Narnia movie, except when they took out the line about wars being ugly when women fight.

      The second movie lost me when Queen Susan the gentle ran into the middle of a battle and engaged in hand to hand combat. Because it makes sense for an archer to run directly into the heart of battles, and because it makes sense for Susan the Gentle to stab people in the chest with arrows.

Leave a Reply

