More Details About The Acceptances

The short stories, as previously mentioned, are “A Quadrillion Occupied Planets” and “Take Up Your Cross”. A brief excerpt of “A Quadrillion Occupied Planets” was posted here earlier. It is a little less than 1000 words long. I give a bit of information about “Take Up Your Cross” in this post. This story is about 6500 words long, technically the length of a novelette.

The stories have been accepted by the Sci-Phi Journal (a fact I did little to hide besides giving myself plausible deniability). The first one (which one is first is to be decided) should be featured in issue 4, which will come out around January. When the second story will be published has yet to be decided, or at least yet to be discussed with me.

As was my suspicion, the editor was hoping I could make my story more “generically Christian” as opposed to Catholic (Mary is a character in the story). After some discussion I made some minor changes after agreeing with the editor that the terms I used to describe her were both highly honorable and acceptable to non-Catholics. The sticking point with me is that, as a Catholic, Mary really is a highly revered figure, and I didn’t want to minimize her or her role in the story. At the same time I got the editor’s point that this magazine was going to be read by a lot of people, many of them Protestants. The compromise we reached I thought was a good one that preserved the Virgin’s honor while not offending non-Catholic sentiments.

By the way, the story was rather brazenly inspired by John C. Wright’s excellent story “Nativity” (which can be read for free online), about a time traveler who ends up at the Nativity of Christ. At the beginning of the story he heavily implies that the main character had ended up at the Nativity by mistake and meant to go to the Crucifixion. I just took it and decided to run with the time traveler’s original plan.

Of course, the characters and plot are completely different. It’s only the premise I took.

I am awaiting more news about publication dates and things of that nature. In the meantime, please check out the journal. It is excellent, an each issue is under four dollars. Lots of strong stories and few weak ones, and all of them fascinating.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More Details About The Acceptances

  1. GRA says:

    Just want to say congrats on the stories being published and Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. vishmehr24 says:

    Baptism of aliens is turning out as a cliche for Catholic/christian sci-fi.
    It was in Eifelfeim and now by Wright in the first issue of Sci-Phi.

    These writers also misunderstand the philosophic definition of man—man is rational animal DOES NOT mean all rational animals are man. This error is explicitly made by Wright in the Sci-Phi story.

    Man is defined as rational animal and not as “a rational animal” because there are no other rational animals on Earth. Were we to find a rational species on Mars, then the definition of man would change–perhaps to “the rational animal from Earth”.

    Thus, by treating the definitiion of man as some immutable philosphical truth, Wright expounds the absurdity that an alien is a man. And why, merely beause then the alien may be baptized. Though the said baptism is of no consequence in the story.

    • …Okay? If by “misunderstand” you mean they disagree with you, probably.

      But besides that…too bad you didn’t like the journal, I guess. Bummer for you.

      • vishmehr24 says:

        Do the aliens die “in Adam” so that they may live “in Christ”?
        There are unfallen aliens in CS Lewis so this unseemly rush to baptize aliens (Wright does in in just one meeting of the alien with a priest) is not even required within the parameters of Christian sci-fi.
        Is it even a good story-telling? The baptism does nothing within the Wright story.

      • Glad you think that? Or too bad you think that? Or who knows?

        I never actually mentioned Mr. Wright’s story. But I’ll play the game anyway.

        Who ever said it was “required”? What a silly comment. Nothing is required.

        It “does nothing” except that the aliens came to Earth because they detected that energy greater than could be contained in the universe was released during the Incarnation of Christ. They came because of Christ, and when they arrived and talked and mind-melded with the Priest it made perfect sense for them to get baptized.

        But seriously, once again, I didn’t even mention Mr. Wright’s story. I didn’t mention any of the stories or authors in the magazine from what I can remember except to say they were professional. Maybe I did mention Mr. Wright once (I can’t even remember), which is, of course, relevant because he is a very good, award-nominated author and I am being published in a magazine that has also published him, which gives it some legitimacy (of course, what gives it even more legitimacy is that I’m getting paid). I never mentioned his story.

        Your response to me saying that a magazine was paying me for my work was to criticize the magazine. That’s a dick move, equivalent to belittling somebody who made it onto an NFL team by pointing out that his team sucks.

        If you want to discuss the faults of Wright’s story, I suggest you do it when I actually post a review of that story. Or mention it. Or allude to it. None of which I did, unless you count me saying that the journal had strong stories “alluding to it”.

        As it is, the only Wright story I mentioned is “Nativity”. Now, if you want to discuss THAT one, go right ahead.

  3. vishmehr24 says:

    I apologize if it seemed like a reflection on your submission. It was just that I had read the entire issue (rather the readable parts) and frankly the cliche of alien baptisms irritates me. Wright’s story was readable but I think incomplete.

    • Thank you, apology appreciated and gratefully accepted.

      That wasn’t my favorite Wright tale. One of the things I picked on a bit is that I wouldn’t have said that ANY one human should have the power of the ideal machine. That power should go to God alone. No man, not even an amazing Chinese girl to be born in several years, should be allowed to hold that much power save Christ.

Leave a Reply

