Top Ten Video Games, Revisited

Now that I’ve got some more games under my belt and some time has passed, here’s my new top ten list of video games. An update of this list.

  1. The Portal Series – Still the best. One thing I really appreciate in Portal 2 is the Perpetual Testing Initiative, which makes player-created levels ridiculously easy to make and turned a game with virtually no replay value into a game with practically infinite replay value. Some of the player-created levels are absolutely brilliant. Also, to this day the co-op is the best I’ve ever played, bar none.
  2. Sly 2: Band of Thieves – The Sly series is staggeringly underrated. The answer to the question “Do the Sly Cooper games hold up?” is “HELL YES”. Assassin’s Creed has been compared to Sly Cooper, and I get it. There are a lot of similarities in gameplay, though Assassin’s Creed is clearly marketed for a much older crowd. The thing is, despite being much less famous Sly Cooper has more fluid controls, more varied gameplay, better dialogue, and graphics that are equally gorgeous but in a much more original way. “Band of Thieves” is still the best in the series. I’m disappointed Sanzaru has no plans for a Sly 5. Maybe if the movie does well…
  3. BioShock – Still awesome. The twist in the middle is so damn brilliant.
  4. The Pokemon Games – I love this series. I don’t care what people say.
  5. To The Moon – The first time I’ve changed up this list. “To The Moon” breaks all the rules. Great games should put gameplay first, not story – that’s a recipe for SJW preaching. Great games should be immersive. Great games should have varied gameplay.”To The Moon” does not put gameplay first, barely has any variation in gameplay, does nothing to immerse you in the world, and has terrible graphics due to its extremely simple engine. What it has is a beautiful and incredibly creative story and one of the best soundtracks in the history of video games – probably THE best. It’s so good that sometimes I actually bought it separately from the game, and consider it money well spent.
  6. FTL: Faster Than Light – I’m changing my order around now, and part of the reason for that is that FTL added an advanced edition for free! The new in-game objects and abilities radically alter gameplay, the new alien species is super cool, and the new ships add a whole new level of challenge. Plus, if you’re a sadist there’s now a hard mode. Because FTL wasn’t challenging enough. All of these changes combine to create an even deeper and more immersive experience, and considering that the game was already fantastic this is extraordinarily impressive.I just realized that despite all of the improvements it still dropped on this list. Just goes to show you how good my top 5 is.
  7. Left 4 Dead 2 – Man, this game just pure dumb fun. And one of my friends got it, which ups the fun significantly. Killing zombies is cool on your own or with strangers, but even cooler with friends.
  8. The Last of Us – A game with incredible graphics, amazing AI, and a really great story. The gameplay wasn’t anything super special but it was fun and fit the game fairly well. What more can you want?
  9. Journey – A game that proves that video games can be artistic while still being incredibly entertaining.
  10. BioShock Infinite – A flawed but hugely ambitious game that every gamer needs to play at least once. The gameplay isn’t great but the world of Columbia is incredible, the voice acting is awesome, and the soundtrack is just beyond cool. Made even better with the addition of the Burial at Sea DLC’s, especially episode 2.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Top Ten Video Games, Revisited

  1. Ilíon says:

    These all seem to be shoot-em-ups.

    I may come from “po’ white trash” … but I’m still a snob. 😉

  2. What??? No entry for the “Thief” series?

    Philistine! 😉

    No objection to #1 though. However if you’re going to talk story, the Deus Ex games have to be considered.

    • I’ve only just started “Thief”. It’s in my backlog.

      I have no clue why, but I just couldn’t get into Deus Ex. I’ve started a couple times and eventually I kind of fizzled out on it. Which is a shame, as it’s right up my alley.

      • Just started Thief? The 1st one or the 4th abomination that shall not be spoke of?

        ah I envy you… to play through the game for the first time… heck I’d love to go play Thief 2 again but know that if I do, I won’t get anything accomplished for several months.

      • No, not the 4th one. The real first one. I don’t play games with less than an 80 on Metacritic without a good reason (which is defined as “a reason I consider to be good”).

        Supposedly the best stealth game of the year was BioShock Burial at Sea Episode 2. Which I can buy, because it was awesome.

        I really don’t know why I can’t get into Deus Ex. It’s right up my alley.

      • Ilíon says:

        You want your games to have a plot?
        http:// iliocentrism .blogspot .com/2012/12/01the-king-is-not-above-law.html (remove the spaces)

      • Good. You may have a bit of trouble in the 5th mission (should be playing “gold” version which had 3 bonus missions in them, the… i believe it was the 5th one, involving 2 thieving guilds, was a little too long and could get grating at times) just power through it and the game gets SOOOO much better after it, including some trippy levels. Thief 2 is just a pure delight.

        One of the things I loved on Thief replays was that I learned how much I had been immersed in the story throughout the play, before I even realized it.

        Also, it will be interesting to note your comparison of it. After all it’s like having someone go back and watch Aliens or Die Hard or Jaws after watching several movies and saying “those are really cliche”. No, those were the movies that BIRTHED the cliches. Likewise, Thief really brought forth and perfected so much in stealth today…

        As for Deus Ex, have you considered playing the 3rd game, Human Revolution? It has updated graphics and a bit simpler game that should be easier for you to get into. (The first Deus Ex was an incredibly deep game with all the permutations you could have, not even counting exploits like the start level load out.)

Leave a Reply

