Since I Doubt Chad is Going to Respond…

…Though I hope I’m wrong…

…I’ve decided to take a page out of Vox’s book and actually respond to people’s criticisms of me, however petty I think they may be. I do think it’s important to refute accusations against my character, lest rumor spreads.

Chad says this in response to this post:

And, so far, you have shown yourself to be a feckless man, behaving like a little girl afraid to get her hands dirty. To say you’re done and then retreat to here to take a last stab…

Me saying I was “done” refers to this comment I made on Free Northerner’s blog in the thread “A Quicker Response”. At the end of my fairly long comment I wrote this:

Frankly, I’m tired of the discussion. The more your (general “your”, not you specifically) view is clarified the more and more convinced I am that it is nonsense.

You get the official last word of the discussion. Thank you for the time. I’m cynical and biting but thankful regardless of your, and everybody else’s, discourse with me. Come down to my blog if you’re ever bored.

Now, to address Chad’s accusations:

1) I wasn’t responding directly to Chad, who apparently thinks my world revolves around him.

2) I made this exact point almost word for word in the original discussion, giving him every chance to respond to me.

3) My username links to my blog, making this ridiculously easy to find – so much so that he found it within a day of my writing it.

4) Chad also neglected to mention that in the same comment where I said I’d be ending the discussion on Free Northerner’s blog I also invited him to mine. Perhaps I need to understand how to retreat better?

5) Chad thinks this blog is a “retreat” to get in a “last stab” because I “don’t like getting my hands dirty”, despite arguing about this subject in at least two, possibly three if I remember correctly, threads on Free Northerner’s blog, and on What’s Wrong With the World, and with people on Zippy’s blog, and with people on Cane Caldo’s blog, and with people on my own blog. Man, my retreating needs some serious re-tooling.

6) And finally, and most importantly, the post that supposedly was an example of me continuing the discussion after I agreed to end it (though it wasn’t a continuation of my discussion with him and was responding to a general bone of contention I saw continually crop up) was written about five and a half hours or so before I said I was interested in ending the discussion on Free Northerner’s blog.

So, any way you slice it, Chad was completely and unequivocally wrong, and rather bitchy about it besides.

I await my apology in due time. *Holds breath*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Since I Doubt Chad is Going to Respond…

  1. Chad says:

    Sent sir, and explained why I was offended. It was like receiving a dinner invitation to show there’s no hard feelings, only to have them sniggering behind your back and hiding behind etiquette.

    However, my observations were incomplete and wrong.

    However, as you will see from the comment, I am still relentless and care not about your opinions. However, you do look amusingly childish for your need to post. Even more hilarious that you do this while i was, in fact, writing a response.

    Vox gets away with it because he’s the one engaging while they deflect. To deflect while they’re engaging and then make a big ‘got you’ post is still acting like a little girl afraid to get her hands dirty.

    You just are mistaking empty words with what I’m asking you to do. I’m asking you to get in the sand box and dig into the truth, to get dirty and make something beautiful when we find God and his truth.

    And you whine that I’m being mean.

    • Vox gets away with it because he’s the one engaging while they deflect. To deflect while they’re engaging and then make a big ‘got you’ post is still acting like a little girl afraid to get her hands dirty.

      Dude, you were wrong, acted like a bitch, and I nailed you on it. Just apologize with grace and accept it. I engaged with people on this topic in several different places, with many different people, and changed my opinion on it when I thought I was wrong. I had a discussion with you, reached a point where I thought it was fruitless, said I didn’t mind if you engaged harshly with me, said you could get the last word, invited you to my blog, then left.

      Then you came in, claimed I was “retreating” from the discussion and using my own blog to get the last word, and now that you’ve been shown to be completely and unequivocally wrong you’re doubling down and acting like a bitch.

      However, as you will see from the comment, I am still relentless and care not about your opinions.

      Indeed, you care so little about my opinions that after I offered to end the discussion you chose to start it up again by going onto my blog and responding to a point I had already made to you almost word for word.

      It was like receiving a dinner invitation to show there’s no hard feelings, only to have them sniggering behind your back and hiding behind etiquette.

      Wow, you’re a sensitive little flower aren’t you?

  2. Chad says:

    Hahaha, writing an apology is doubling down?

    Wow, I would have never guessed!

    Agreeing with you that I was wrong is also doubling down?

    Crazy!

    “Indeed, you care so little about my opinions that after I offered to end the discussion you chose to start it up again by going onto my blog and responding to a point I had already made to you almost word for word.”

    I came because I was invited, I already apologized, stated why I was wrong, and how I got to those beliefs. I’m not going to do so again because you can’t understand miscommunication and then act like an attention seeking girl that is complaining because Tommy really doesn’t care about her dolls when he can play with toy guns.

    Maybe if you could actually read things and place them in the correct order in your head, instead of responding like an emotional delicate flower where what gets your attention is placed first, followed by the others regardless of logic, we wouldnt have miscommunication problems.

    Though we’d likely still have plenty to go around, hah! But I think we’d both enjoy a real discussion more than this bickering

    • Hahaha, writing an apology is doubling down?

      What you wrote was not an apology. It was you saying “Yeah, okay, I may have been wrong about this one thing, BUT STILL…”

      I’m not going to do so again because you can’t understand miscommunication and then act like an attention seeking girl that is complaining because Tommy really doesn’t care about her dolls when he can play with toy guns.

      You apologized, then in the same comment proceeded to insult me again. Man, how did I not think it was totally sincere?

      Maybe if you could actually read things and place them in the correct order in your head, instead of responding like an emotional delicate flower where what gets your attention is placed first, followed by the others regardless of logic, we wouldnt have miscommunication problems.

      Now you’re just reaching, since you and I both know that had nothing to do with anything.

      Look, if you’d come in and just responded to the post, if you’d even have come in, responded to the post, and claimed I was projecting, I would have been fine. Hell, if you claimed I was projecting, was being prideful, and was misinterpreting you, that’s fine. At least all of this is directly relevant to what we were discussing, which has a lot to do with sussing out why people think the way they do and subtle errors in thought.

      But when you come in, insult me because your knowledge of the facts was incorrect, and then when you’re called out on it proceed to say I argued like a coward and a leftist pansy anyway despite me responding directly to your words via quotation, then come up with some half-assed excuse that maybe this is because I responded to your posts out of order (???), we might be able to get something done. But as it is, you’ll excuse me if I’m not convinced you’re here to argue in good faith.

  3. Tell you what: Here is an official olive branch proposal. I will refrain from writing anything else in response to things not related to the topic we’re discussing, and I will accept your apology, in return for you also limiting your responses from now on to the topic as well. This way the onus is on both of us and we can move forward cleanly. Deal?

    • Chad says:

      Done.

      And my apologies if the original apology did not come across as honest. It was. I simply don’t change my behavior that I feel is unrelated to an apology, and come off as an asshole to people that don’t know that about me. Usually this happens, and then we make up over a beer or whiskey if a man

      As such, I will drink some whiskey to your good health and devotion to our Lord. I have a feeling I’d enjoy a debate and be good friends with you in person where these kinds of mistakes such as I made dont happen.

      God bless
      – Chad

      • Chad says:

        In other words – its my fault, I know it, and its a character flaw I should probably work on.

        Just so it doesnt appear backhanded again, hah!

        Cheers

      • Honestly, as I look over at this exchange, you remind me of my friend Mark (not his real name). He was the sort of friend I could argue with vehemently on almost any topic for hours and then go on later like nothing had happened. Meanwhile people sitting nearby watching us talk would just be amazed.

        I think you’re right – we’d probably get along a little bit too well. No hard feelings, and thanks for your apology.

      • So you know: I am planning on continuing through a new post, but it’ll take awhile because both you and Deuce have made a lot of points I’m planning on sussing through.

        In the interest of what I’ll call the olive branch agreement I’ll edit out the personal asides in your responses and respond only to your arguments, keeping my personal comments on your character or motivations absent as well. Sound fair?

Leave a Reply

