The New Masthead

My old one, “I’m a guy who’s not a philosopher but acts like one, etc…”, was too long, and I wanted something that reflected my worldview more succinctly. Who better for that than Lewis?

I’ve mentioned it before, but that line (“If you must weep, turn your face aside and see you wet not your bow-string”) is my favorite line in all of literature. It is said by King Tirian to Jill after the talking horses are slaughtered en masse in “The Last Battle”. How can anybody not love Tirian after that line? Every time I read it I feel a mixture of lingering shame and stirring bravery.

As Christians, we weep for the world. As a self-described cynic, I lament the world’s flaws. But I must never let my tears wet my bow-string.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The New Masthead

  1. WHY ON EARTH WON’T MY LIKE BUTTON NOT WORK?! *dies*

Leave a Reply

