But She Brought Them Coffee

From the article The teachers who inspired us, and even changed the trajectories of our lives, from TED:

“The professor who taught me Intro to Women and Gender Studies my sophomore year of college completely changed my framework for thinking about human relationships within a hierarchy. She brought coffee and tea to class for us every morning to congratulate us for being so dedicated to learning as to choose an 8:30 a.m. class. When I emailed her to say I’d be out sick, she sent me a get-well e-card. And when, in a fit of undergraduate irresponsibility, I simply failed to do an assignment, she wasn’t the least bit mad — instead, I received a phone call from her a week after the end of the semester informing me that, because I’d done such good work, she couldn’t bear to give me the B+ I numerically deserved. It was incredible to see how fully she lived the subject she taught; the philosophy of compassion and equality.” —Morton Bast, Editorial Assistant

So, the Women and Gender Studies Professor is living out her “philosophy of compassion and equality” by refusing to adhere to the standards she’d set and giving an inferior grade to somebody who didn’t do the work and rightly shouldn’t have gotten an A. I suppose she’d have been my favorite teacher too, then.

But hey, she brought them coffee and tea every morning! Well, if this testimony doesn’t prove that Women and Gender Studies isn’t a joke, then by golly nothing will!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to But She Brought Them Coffee

  1. Crude says:

    That is a pretty pathetic example yeah.

    “She treated us as if we were all 5 years old.”

  2. Res says:

    I think they meant to take a class on Catholicism.

  3. Itinérante says:

    I do coffee and tea for my colleagues at work everyday. I must be a super woman!

Leave a Reply

