What’s Wrong with “What Wrong With the World”

…As in, the blog that can be found in my “Cool blogs to check out section”.

Recently I lost my temper in a thread there, the first time when I was on that site that I’ve ever snapped at the moderators. I was defending Crude but, sorry Crude, it was less about him and more about the mods’ general attitudes. I’m not going to link to the specific thread because I know my personality and if I link to it I’m going to get angry then get sucked back in, and I don’t want to deal with that right now. But, I will tell you why I snapped.

The thread was about new rules that were used to bully conservatives being put in place at a University, and it was fine as far as it goes. I commented in the thread a couple times to take part in the discussion and was in general agreement with the mods.

Crude came in and asked “Okay, what should we do about it?”. I answered by using the “Vox Day Sci-Fi Spectacular(TM)” as my blueprint for a good method to use when being bullied by liberals. Okay. Whatever.

Crude and Lydia McGrew, an extremely smart philosopher and one of the mods, started going back and forth. Crude said that he thinks that academia should be burned to the ground. Lydia, after awhile, became so offended that Crude never took this back she started insulting him personally. When Crude pointed out that Lydia was badly overreacting to simple disagreement, Paul J. Cella, another mod and another very smart man, said that Crude’s posts did “reek of trollishness” or some such nonsense.

Now, before I go on, I want you to realize a few things. First, I like WWWtW. They’re smart guys, they make a lot of good points, and I’d rather they be allies then enemies. But their attitudes are nothing new. They hate, hate, HATE disagreement. Doesn’t matter who disagrees, if you don’t back down they will insult you and ridicule you. The best you can say is that they (normally) won’t ban you.

I know I’m not the only one who noticed this – I believe former mod Jeff Culbreath left because he got tired of Lydia’s attitude. And honestly, I can deal with this. I like Vox Day, after all, and he can be far nastier than they’ve ever been.

But, when they said that to Crude, I snapped. Not because it was Crude specifically, but because Crude was being polite, responded to every point Lydia made, and made his case carefully. But he refused to back down to Lydia McGrew, and this frustrated her, so she started insulting him. And Paul, who is friends with Lydia, decided to side with her because Lydia is his friend and Crude is not. And I told them all this.

That was ridiculous. That was immature. That was not intelligent. And that was nothing new.

So I’m taking a break from there for awhile. I’ll let them stew at me for a bit, then stew at Crude (a lot more than me) for a bit, then come back when I’m not ready to bite people’s heads off. But conservatives in general need to be better than that. We should be able to handle simple disagreement within our ranks on basic issues respectfully.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to What’s Wrong with “What Wrong With the World”

  1. Crude says:

    I didn’t look back at that thread after my last post, but I think Paul was at least (after his initial attack) being reasonable. I was having a conversation with Paul, he let me make my case. In fact, I can have a conversation with most conservatives there, if it starts without Lydia being involved. Lydia, however, blows her freaking stack when I show up, and it gets personal quickly. I just rub her the wrong way apparently, and I don’t have the proper supplicant attitude once she loses her cool.

    • Crude says:

      Thanks, by the way, for the support. If only to verify to me that, yes, I was actually well-behaved there, at least until the mud started flying. It’s not like I rolled in there mocking anyone.

    • The others aren’t as bad as Lydia, but I think they’re biased too much in their favor. Frankly. I doubt any of them would have any negative opinion of you at all if Lydia didn’t dislike you.

  2. Ilíon says:

    What’s Wrong with “What’s Wrong With the World”?

    Lydia McGrew.

    • Ilíon says:

      See? Even before reading the OP, I knew the answer.

    • Ha!

      Like I said, I don’t REALLY dislike Lydia. She has a lot of good points to make. I’ve come to think of her kind of like I think of Vox, though we agree more often. I respect her, but that doesn’t mean I don’t think she’s out of line sometimes.

      • Crude says:

        For the record, I do too. I may not get along with Lydia at all, but nothing makes me doubt her intelligence, her ability to argue, etc. But you can swing all that and still have problems.

      • Ilíon says:

        Of course.

  3. Tony Jokin says:

    I came here after taking a quick peek at your blog after our discussion at Codg haha.

    I have to say though, when someone says ‘academia should be burned to the ground’, that is like a bit of a troll alert. Or at the very least, from that point onward I would personally conclude the person making that claim to be a bit too ignorant to have a basic discussion.

    Academia is just a system of rules extending the common sense ideas we have regarding knowledge propagation. Sure, the system has become somewhat corrupt with nuisance additions. But to then say that it should be burnt to the ground is nonsensical.

    If you really think about it academic credentials give a general degree of certainty regarding and individual’s familiarity of a certain subject, and the level of cognitive ability tuned to understand that subject. This is not to say that there are no non-academics who have the same ability. But, if I had to choose between the two, I would choose the academic over the non-academic. I think when a person shows a aversion toward the academic system, it usually stems from a grave misunderstanding of what it represents.

    • If you had read the conversation then you would have known that academia was being used in a specific sense, and that the case was being made in a fair and balanced manner.

    • Crude says:

      I have to say though, when someone says ‘academia should be burned to the ground’, that is like a bit of a troll alert. Or at the very least, from that point onward I would personally conclude the person making that claim to be a bit too ignorant to have a basic discussion.

      As Malcolm said, I didn’t simply rant in general about academia. I laid out problems I had with the system, what problems I saw it as presenting the world, and some examples of responses I’d like to see to it all.

      Academia is just a system of rules extending the common sense ideas we have regarding knowledge propagation.

      It’s much more than that, culturally and in practice. It’s laced with public funding, it’s a means of idea propagation, a cultural warzone, and more. When the problems with it are taken into account, when the options afforded by modern technology are accounted for, and when the abuses are noted, yes – I think it’s reasonable to say that what’s needed is a radical restructuring of our attitudes towards academics, as well as towards academia and education in general. I grant that there exist individual colleges and academics who are fantastic. I admire them. Their existence does not suffice to justify those attitudes towards the system, or the system as a whole.

      That’s my view, and I’m open to counterarguments.

  4. Ronin says:

    //For the record, I do too. I may not get along with Lydia at all, but nothing makes me doubt her intelligence, her ability to argue, etc. But you can swing all that and still have problems.//

    Crude,

    That maybe, but it does seem her ability to argue breaks down to some extent when it comes to you, because you brought up some good points and she got emotional instead of handling your criticisms.

Leave a Reply

