Everybody Should Listen to This

I CANNOT get BioShock Infinite out of my head. The ending to the game gives me a headache, and overthinker that I am, I’m desperately trying to figure out how it makes sense. Always, I feel as if I ALMOST get it…but not quite. But I WANT to like it very, very badly. Is this healthy? Maybe not, but it’s who I am. I make sense of things. It’s the nerd in me. And one way or another, for me to fully enjoy this game again I need to make peace with this ending. I know this might sound crazy to people, but there you go.

Anyway, one thing I didn’t talk about in the review is the soundtrack. Simply put: It’s phenomenal. Absolutely phenomenal. It’s not just the best video game soundtrack I’ve ever heard. It’s the best I’ve ever heard by FAR. From the first song, a glorious choral version of an old 1907 tune (covered once upon a time by Johnny Cash) called “Will the Circle Be Unbroken”, to an incredible barbershop quartet rendition of the Beach Boys’ “God Only Knows” (Seriously!), to all sorts of amazing things in between, it is incredible.

One of the most moving moments of the game takes place in an area of Columbia called shantytown – the poor area of town. It’s one of the best sections of the entire game, because it’s incredibly atmospheric. The little details are great – for example, I noticed as I dug around for cash there it was few and far between.

There is a moment where, if you explore, you’ll find the basement of a trashy, dive bar. Hiding underneath the stairs there is a little kid, and sitting on a chair is a guitar. You as Booker have the option of playing the guitar, and Elizabeth will sing a beautiful short rendition of “Will the Circle Be Unbroken”. The scene is found easily on youtube, and anyway part of its power comes from the fact that it’s in-game.

It was vocally stunning though – and so I encourage you all to listen to this absolute gem from the end credits, a recording of the voice actors in the studio practicing the song themselves, with input from the head developer. It’s an incredible performance.

And in the meantime, I’ll continue trying to work my way forward with this ending.

You might see more about this game on here, depending on my mood.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

