Yes, Europe is Crazy

Remember the lady who thought I was just the most ridiculous person eh-ver for believing pointing out that cells were living organisms? Well, that wasn’t the first time we had run into each other. When we had the assisted suicide/euthanasia discussion in Ethics class I said that places in Europe like, say, Belgium and the Netherlands were absolutely crazy with their policies on euthanasia and suicide. A perfectly healthy adult is allowed to get a doctor-assisted suicide if they decide they want to.

Of course, the lady disagreed, citing the story of (if I remember correctly, which I might not) her father who suffered a long illness and wasn’t able to kill himself, and then telling the story of friends she knew in (I believe) Sweden who were allowed to let their loved one “die with dignity” (i.e. take the easy way out and decide to end their lives – And yes, I’m going to be that callous. If I’m ever suffering so much that I decide to kill myself, I too would be taking the easy way out, no matter how understandable).

Of course, this woman was once again spouting off on something she knew nothing about. Now Belgium is about to allow children to choose euthanization. Children! That’s right:*

Jutte van den Werff Ten Bosch has already had the talk with her 10-year-old son. Several times, in fact. No, not the sex talk. The euthanasia talk.

“Even if he said, ‘I want to die’, I’d support him,” she explained. “I didn’t put my children in the world for me. It’s their life and their death. The best parents are the ones who let their children go.”

Professor van den Werff Ten Bosch’s dinner-table conversations with her son and her three other children are far from hypothetical: They live in Belgium, where a law allowing child euthanasia is on track to be passed early next year.

Oh, but it gets better. Children can make this decision without parental consent.

The child euthanasia bill, which has just passed the committee stage in the legislature’s upper house, the Senate, and is expected to be adopted by the full Senate later this month followed by the lower house, the Chamber of Representatives, in January or February, stipulates that doctors can suggest to terminally ill minors that they should be euthanized.

After the child decides in favor of death, the parents have to consent, though the law makes no provision for what will happen if the parents disagree. Euthanasia is usually performed by a doctor, who gives the patient an overdose of muscle relaxants or sedatives. This causes a coma followed by death.

This is so sick. I’m actually getting physically nauseated. I run an anti-suicide charity with a friend, and I don’t believe for a second that this is going to stop at terminal illnesses. Emotional distress is next.

This is a personal issue for me. No, I myself have never considered suicide, either idly or seriously, thank God. But I have friends who would have made that choice. Soon it will become the “compassionate” thing for doctors to euthanize teenagers undergoing “extreme emotional duress”. If you think that’s not going to follow, then I want you to look at this law and tell me that they’re not willing to go there. Go ahead. I dare you.

Sick, sick, sick. How utterly revolting. Europe is insane.

*H/t to Elsepth’s blog Loving in the Ruins and Lydia McGrew of What’s Wrong With the World for the link and news.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yes, Europe is Crazy

  1. sunshinemary says:

    Truly horrible, isn’t it. It’s all but certain to pass this week.

Leave a Reply

