Quick Thought on Sexual Immorality

As a Catholic, I think contraception is immoral. If/when people learn this about me they might think I’m very wrong and they might think it’s kind of quirky, but I don’t know anyone who would call me bigoted.

But, if I say homosexual sex is wrong – anal sex, for the most part – I’m immediately a bigot. So why is anal or other types of weird sex shit (let’s not mince words here) that homosexuals tend to do put on a special pedestal?

This is a serious question, and I don’t think it has a quick answer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quick Thought on Sexual Immorality

  1. Crude says:

    So why is anal or other types of weird sex shit (let’s not mince words here) that homosexuals tend to do put on a special pedestal?

    It’s not. At least, in my experience, getting people to even /acknowledge/ those things is like pulling teeth. They want to talk about ‘sex’ in the most abstract, distant terms they possibly can – or, they want to arm it up with the most idealistic, fantasized notions, like ‘becoming one with their partner’ and so on.

    • I get what you’re saying, but it’s not quite what I mean. What I’m asking is, how when I say, “I’m against homosexual sex, but not homosexual people,” I’m still a bigot. I’d be against the TYPE of sex they do even if it was between a man and a woman. But that doesn’t matter; for believing that, I’m a bigot. Why?

      I suspect it has something to do with an unfortunate history against homosexuals. They really have been badly mistreated in the past and other parts of the world, so anything that looks in any way like “discrimination” (scare quotes intended) immediately lumps you in with that category, whether you should be or not.

      I remember you saying this once though, and I agree – I really don’t give a shit if you’re a homosexual. Whatever. I don’t even care what you do in your bedroom. Sure I think it’s immoral, but I think contraception is too. I’m not going to butt into everybody’s lives badgering them about it, though.

      My issue with homosexuals is more than anything else gay marriage and the crusade to enshrine bullying against religious folk into law. Otherwise, I’m more than willing to be perfectly friendly.

      • Crude says:

        I’d be against the TYPE of sex they do even if it was between a man and a woman. But that doesn’t matter; for believing that, I’m a bigot. Why?

        Because no one has to take a bigot’s arguments seriously, and ‘actually dealing with the arguments’ scares the hell out of an inordinate number of people on this subject. If they don’t even need to listen to your arguments, so much the better.

        And let’s be clear – a good share of the motivation against these views isn’t about concerns over ‘bigotry’, but concerns over sex. Straight and non-straight.

        My issue with homosexuals is more than anything else gay marriage and the crusade to enshrine bullying against religious folk into law.

        My advice? Differentiate between ‘homosexuals’ and ‘LGBT groups/activists’. They’re not the same thing. Your problem is with a (very large, most likely) subgroup of homosexuals. Not with homosexuals.

      • It’s a subgroup of homosexuals that has done an excellent propaganda job. Remember the lesbian teacher who was fired from a Catholic school after it came out, many years after she was hired, that she had a lesbian lover?

        One of my friends (remember, I’m the “college” age group) posted that story and talked about how “awful” it was that she was fired and how “despicable” the school was. At least ten, maybe up to 20, people joined in the discussion. All of them unanimously agreed that there needs to be non-discrimination laws so that can’t happen.

        And they acted as if this was the most obvious thing in the world because to believe that the school had the RIGHT to do that – or even, Gasp!, that they were correct – was to believe in DISCRIMINATION, the bad kind, and it meant you were homophobic, thus a bigot. QED.

        You need to hand it to the LGBT activists. They’ve done a spectacular job, overall.

Leave a Reply

