The World of Feminism, Example 1

Here’s a fun little story (and I say with this with all of the dark humor I can muster): When I was in my senior year of HS, which I graduated a little over one year ago, the time of year came when people had to get dates to prom. I hung out with a group of friends where the ratio of single guys and guys with girlfriends was split almost exactly down the middle. Our group of friends also intersected with a group of girls who were all either friends of us or friends of friends of us.

One of my best friends, and one of the only people from HS who I still frequently talk to now, asked a girl to prom as a friend. This happened in my school about as often as going on an actual date happened. She said yes.

This is all well and good. It wasn’t a few days later when I overheard friends (!!!) of mine telling his date, “Why are you going with him, anyway? You could do better than that!”.

I was told later by my girlfriend (since broken up) that they had said the same thing to her about me.

One of those girls has since apologized, and I believe her. The other girl I’ve stopped speaking to.

Is there a real point to this story? I don’t know. I guess not. It’s just, why would you do that, you know? My friend is one of the more decent guys you’ll ever meet. He didn’t deserve to be talked about, behind his back, like that.

Maybe I’m just ranting about this specific case, but I don’t think so. I think, with unpopular nerds like me, this happens pretty often. And I’ve heard people say, “Be more masculine! Don’t just be a nice guy!”

Well, what can I say to that? Dating is hard enough without people convincing the world that we’re just not good enough for them.

I don’t know. Not even sure what made me bring this up. But I feel as if I’m missing a deeper problem here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The World of Feminism, Example 1

  1. Being masculine and being nice are definitely consistent. I hope.

    Incidentally, I’m not sure what this post has to do with feminism..

Leave a Reply

